CZ Imaging Institute CZ Biohub Network Kempner Institute
A Chan Zuckerberg Science Institute
David Agard image

David Agard


Professor, Departments of Biochemistry & Biophysics and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of California, San Francisco, CA

David Agard image

David A. Agard, Ph.D. is a Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of California, San Francisco. His current research focuses on elucidating the mechanism of cytosolic protein homeostasis as driven by the Hsp90 and Hsp70 molecular chaperones and their roles in human health and disease. Additional areas focus on the structure and organization of centrosomes, basal bodies, and cilia, and the structure and complex cell biology of the nuclear compartment encoded by jumbo bacteriophage. Accompanying this is a continuing effort to develop new technologies for high-resolution cryoEM and cryoET.

David was the founding Director and subsequently, a Scientific Director of the multi-campus Institute for Bioengineering, Biotechnology, and Quantitative Biomedical Research between 2001–2006, and he was a Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) Investigator from 1986 to 2019. He earned his B.S. in Molecular Biochemistry and Biophysics from Yale University and his Ph.D. in biological chemistry from the California Institute of Technology and did his postdoc at the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge, England. David was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2007 and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2009.

Matthias Haury image
Matthias Haury

Former Chief Operating Officer, Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience, Jupiter, FL

Bridget Carragher image
Bridget Carragher

Former Co-Director, Simons Electron Microscopy Center, New York Structural Biology Center, New York, NY

Founder, NanoImaging Services, Inc.

Clint Potter image
Clint Potter

Former Co-Director, Simons Electron Microscopy Center, New York Structural Biology Center, New York, NY

Founder, NanoImaging Services, Inc.

Roe Babes image
Roe Babes
Office Manager
Nina Borja image
Nina Borja
Human Resources Director
Anchi Cheng image
Anchi Cheng
Team Leader
Utz Ermel image
Utz Ermel
Garrett Greenan image
Garrett Greenan
Norbert (Bisco) Hill image
Norbert (Bisco) Hill
Tiahna Larsen-Yaylagan image
Tiahna Larsen-Yaylagan
Financial Controller
Gorica Margulis image
Gorica Margulis
Lab Manager
Liz Montabana image
Liz Montabana
EM Platform Manager
Pavel Olshin image
Pavel Olshin
Reza Paraan image
Reza Paraan
Ariana Peck image
Ariana Peck
Jonathan Schwartz image
Jonathan Schwartz
Daniel Serwas image
Daniel Serwas
Team Leader
Shu-Hsien Sheu image
Shu-Hsien Sheu
Team Leader
Hannah Siems image
Hannah Siems
Research Associate
Yue Yu image
Yue Yu
Shawn Zheng image
Shawn Zheng
Team Leader

Science Advisory Board

Wolfgang Baumeister image
Wolfgang Baumeister

Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry

Ibrahim Cissé image
Ibrahim Cissé

Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics

Tomas Kirchhausen image
Tomas Kirchhausen

Program in Cellular and Molecular Medicine, Boston Children’s Hospital

Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz image
Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz

Janelia Research Campus, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Julia Mahamid image
Julia Mahamid

European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Heidelberg

Ellen Zhong image
Ellen Zhong

Department of Computer Science, Princeton University

Up Next:

Join Us